RSS

Age is only a number

16 Oct
Age is only a number

When it comes to exercise, your age can play a funny – and often restrictive – role. People who are still in their late teens and early twenties generally get away with moving less, while those who are older typically seem to shy away from doing anything strenuous for fear of injury. But no matter how old you are, you should be lifting weights!

Most of my friends my age (22) have never picked up anything heavy in their lives. While I’m slowly starting to convert some of them, there sadly is still a large illogical prejudice towards strength training. People who are in their 20s should be taking advantage of the fact that their bodies can adapt quickly and already be developing good habits now.

On the other end of the scale, it is so important for older people to lift weights. The production of muscle protein slows down naturally as people age, and the number of muscles fibers also decreases leading to less muscle mass. Research has shown that for every half kilogram of muscle you lose, you gain a kilogram of fat.
All this results in people becoming fatigued more easily, discouraging them from exercise and worsening the problem.

Muscle wasting typically begins when you hit your 30s, but becomes most significant after the age of around 45, when you start losing 1 per cent of muscle mass every year. By the time you are 60, you will have lost 30 per cent of your lean muscle – provided that you aren’t doing anything to prevent it!

It’s crucial that during this time you – if you aren’t already – lift weights to prevent muscle wasting. When you solely focus on cardio, you are simply damaging the small muscle you have remaining when you should instead be trying to regain muscle mass. That is why so many women don’t see change in their bodies in middle to older age despite doing hours upon hours of cardio, as they’re only weakening their muscles and doing nothing to increase their fat burning.

Lifting weights also decreases the risk of developing conditions such as osteoporosis. Bone calcium is lost as we age and inactivity only weakens bones further. Strength training actually increases the strength and density of bone tissue by increasing the mineral deposits within the bone.

As Rob pointed out in his guest post, it’s never too old to start training. Lifting weights literally changed his father’s life. I can understand that it may be scary to go into the weights room at first if you’ve never done it before. At the very least, buy a few different sets of dumbbells and do some basic moves at home two to three times a week. Take it easy at first, but then don’t be afraid to challenge yourself and lift heavy for low reps.

This will be me and Rob one day ❤

So I have some exciting news for you guys, but you’ll unfortunately have to wait until my next post! There’s some people I would rather tell in person than have them find out through my blog (and no, I’m not pregnant!). My mother-in-law is no longer staying with us so I’ll be back to my normal posting schedule now. And my cut begins tomorrow, which I’m super excited about!

How old were you when you started lifting weights? Is there anyone in your life that you think should be lifting weights?

 
22 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2011 in Training

 

Tags: , ,

22 responses to “Age is only a number

  1. Meg (A Dash of Meg)

    October 16, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Great post sweetheart 🙂 Have been missing you 😉

    I began lifting last September (Sept. 2010)
    My Dad lifts 🙂 I am so proud of him 🙂 We have our little own home gym downstairs, so he does that routinely 🙂 But, I definitely think my Mom should get down there as well and start a routine 🙂 She used to, but then stopped once things got busy with me… She focused so much on helping me through my eating disorder that she neglected herself, but now that I am better, she should start up again 🙂

     
    • Tara

      October 17, 2011 at 9:17 am

      That’s so awesome that your dad lifts at home! You have a great mum for sacrificing herself to help you. I hope she looks after herself and starts up again 🙂

       
  2. rob

    October 16, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    I know my comments r usually the best part of your blog(hahaha, yeah right), tonight I can’t think about anything except the rugby. GO ALL BLACKS!!!!!!!!
    KA TU TE WANAWANA
    KAPA O PANGA, AUE HA,
    Hiiiiii

     
    • Tara

      October 17, 2011 at 9:19 am

      Haha! I’m glad you think so! But I agree – the All Blacks killed it!!!

       
  3. Liz@LastChanceTraining

    October 16, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    It’s really funny reading this article from my perspective – yes, I am old enough to be your mother (lol) but it’s true – we do need to continue to strength train as we age!

     
    • Tara

      October 17, 2011 at 9:20 am

      I’m glad you agree 🙂 And, you probably are, especially considering my mum is only 39! But that just makes you even wiser 🙂

       
  4. Erika

    October 16, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    great post! there are a couple ladies that are old enough to be my grandma that come into the studio i work at who can lift some impressive lbs! most of my clients are middle aged and older and muscle loss is definitely apparent in most of them when they first start! i whip ’em back into shape though 😉
    p.s. i like rob’s comment. hahah.

     
    • Tara

      October 17, 2011 at 9:27 am

      That’s awesome! There’s a couple of older guys who lift weights at my gym, but no ladies 😦 But that’s not saying much as there are very few ladies in general who lift weights!! Do you focus on mostly strength training with your older clients then? Rob’s great, right? 🙂

       
      • Erika

        October 19, 2011 at 6:27 am

        yess, i focus on mostly strength training with all of my clients. but you bet i have my older ladies squattin’ and pulling deadlifts! haha. so incredibly beneficial for people their age!

         
  5. Marion

    October 16, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    I started weight lifting (and going to the gym for any type of exercise, for that matter) when I was 39 and have been going strong for almost 5 years now. I currently bench press 160 pounds.

    I know a weightlifter who is 89 years old. He’s so cool, and I want to be just like him when I grow up. 😀

    🙂 Marion

     
    • Tara

      October 17, 2011 at 9:27 am

      That’s awesome, Marion! What an inspiration!!

       
  6. Kristen

    October 17, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I was 32 when I started lifting, and there was NOTHING athletic about me before that. Glad I finally started, but I wish I had done so 10 years ago.

    There is a lady in her 80s (for real) in my gym who does cardio (she runs and gets on the stepper) and uses the weight machines. She gives me hope that I’ll still be deadlifting well into my 80s 🙂

     
    • Tara

      October 17, 2011 at 10:25 am

      I think most people who start lifting in their 30s or later wonder why they didn’t start earlier! I guess I’m lucky that I wised up at a young age 🙂 You look awesome now, so the late start clearly didn’t hurt your progress! Wow! I’m always so impressed when I see people in their 70s and 80s running. It just makes me dislike those in their 20s and 30s who complain about how hard it is even more!

       
  7. saraheclement

    October 17, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I was 14 when I first started lifting! Of course, I was anorexic at the time, so it wasn’t until I recovered that I actually started building muscle. I find it odd that I took up weight training when I had anorexia. Most of the other anoretics I have met only did carido. Anyway…with that said, I am grateful that I did take it up because I have never looked back! It feels really good to say I have been lifting weights for 15 years, and I look forward to hopefully 50 more!

    I wish my husband would lift weights. He goes through some phases where he lifts, but he just doesn’t like it at all. He loves walking and less intense exercise, and so I encourage him to do that (otherwise he would just sit at his computer/research/read books all day), but I wish I could make weight lifting ‘stick’!

    I always admire the older people I see at the gym on the weight room floor. I don’t know if they have them at your gym, but even those circuit classes (which are often attended by mainly elderly people) make me smile. They always seem to have so much fun! I want to be like that when I am a senior.

     
    • Tara

      October 17, 2011 at 10:29 am

      Wow, that is interesting. Most people with eating disorders tend to do hours and hours of cardio. Were you not afraid of ‘bulking up’? I’m sure you know now that weight lifting will not bulk you up, but did you at such a young age? I’m lucky that my husband loves lifting weights too! I can’t imagine not liking it 😦

      My gym is much more targeted towards younger people, so there’s really not anyone over 40 there. But recently I went to another gym when I was travelling, and it was packed full of oldies 🙂 It was awesome!!! I definitely want to stay active as I get older.

       
  8. Meg

    October 17, 2011 at 10:19 am

    My mum has a little weight program at the gym and she’s always telling me how the trainer made her increase her weights lol. She goes around 9am so it’s not too busy and full of the guys. She used to do body pump too until she broke her wrist and has had to have plates and multiple operations on it.
    I hope to still be able to do it when I’m her age (mid 50’s)

     
    • Tara

      October 17, 2011 at 10:31 am

      That’s great, Meg! Going later in the day is a good idea for those who may be intimidated by the usual meatheads who go in peak times. It’s awesome that she’s still working out even after she broke her wrist – many would use that as an excuse!

       
  9. melissa cunningham

    October 18, 2011 at 11:47 am

    great post here!
    i started lifting when i was 15. nothing serious,just mandatory light upper/lower body stuff for crosscountry season. when i had to miss my first collegiate track season due to foot surgery i turned to the weight room for an outlet. i lifted with the college football team and learned to lift like a man!
    when i was able to run again,i loved reaping the duel benifit of becoming a stronger and faster runner.
    😀

     
    • Tara

      October 18, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      While I’m not as serious a runner as you, I also took up weight lifting when I was injured from running. I’d lifted weights for a couple of years but not seriously. I eventually grew tired of a recurring knee problem and started lifting more seriously. I can’t say that it’s made me a better runner like you, because I haven’t run since!

       
  10. Kek

    October 19, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    42. (Yes, the meaning of life… Not a Hitchhiker’s fan? Oh well.)

    Setting foot in a gym for the first time was one of the most intimidating things I’ve ever done, so I took the safer option and joined a women-only gym. Who knew I’d fall in love with weight training?

    That one little step led me to places over the next few years that I’d never dreamed of – huge weight loss, renewed confidence, fantastic new internet friends, travel, study, my own business and the figure stage.

    Phew. I’m not done yet!

     
    • Tara

      October 20, 2011 at 11:23 am

      Joining a women-only gym can be a great idea for someone who is just starting out. I think most people fall in love with weight training once they begin! It’s addictive 🙂 Lifting has opened up so many doors to me too – I’m so glad I started so young.

       

What do you think?